Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Missing, Presumed Dead
Cover of Missing, Presumed Dead
Missing, Presumed Dead
Borrow Borrow

When eighteen-year-old Lexi foresees the brutal murder of a young woman outside a club in downtown L.A., she is powerless to stop it.

But then the girl's ghost appears, seeking vengeance, and Lexi is swept into a dangerous search that could put her directly in the path of a serial killer. From the author of Devils Unto Dust, this fast-paced and literary thriller will haunt fans of Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious and Karen M. McManus's One of Us Is Lying.

With a touch, Lexi can sense how and when someone will die. Some say it's a gift. But to Lexi it's a curse—one that keeps her friendless and alone. All that changes when Lexi foresees the violent death of a young woman, Jane, outside a club.

Jane doesn't go to the afterlife quietly. Her ghost remains behind, determined to hunt down her murderer, and she needs Lexi's help. In life, Jane was everything Lexi is not—outgoing, happy, popular. But in death, all Jane wants is revenge.

Lexi will do anything to help Jane, to make up for the fact that she didn't—couldn't—save Jane's life, and to keep this beautiful ghost of a girl by her side for as long as possible.

Emma Berquist's second novel is a haunting and atmospheric murder mystery that tackles themes of depression, loneliness, love, and identity. This high-concept novel is for fans of Holly Black's The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Tahereh Mafi's Shatter Me series.

When eighteen-year-old Lexi foresees the brutal murder of a young woman outside a club in downtown L.A., she is powerless to stop it.

But then the girl's ghost appears, seeking vengeance, and Lexi is swept into a dangerous search that could put her directly in the path of a serial killer. From the author of Devils Unto Dust, this fast-paced and literary thriller will haunt fans of Maureen Johnson's Truly Devious and Karen M. McManus's One of Us Is Lying.

With a touch, Lexi can sense how and when someone will die. Some say it's a gift. But to Lexi it's a curse—one that keeps her friendless and alone. All that changes when Lexi foresees the violent death of a young woman, Jane, outside a club.

Jane doesn't go to the afterlife quietly. Her ghost remains behind, determined to hunt down her murderer, and she needs Lexi's help. In life, Jane was everything Lexi is not—outgoing, happy, popular. But in death, all Jane wants is revenge.

Lexi will do anything to help Jane, to make up for the fact that she didn't—couldn't—save Jane's life, and to keep this beautiful ghost of a girl by her side for as long as possible.

Emma Berquist's second novel is a haunting and atmospheric murder mystery that tackles themes of depression, loneliness, love, and identity. This high-concept novel is for fans of Holly Black's The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Tahereh Mafi's Shatter Me series.
Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you

Reviews-
  • Kirkus

    March 15, 2019
    A lonely teen must use her odd powers to track down a killer.Eighteen-year-old Alexandra "Lexi" Ivanovich can tell how and when someone will die with just a touch and has an affinity with ghosts. If she tries to save someone from their fate, it only delays the inevitable and can have horrible consequences, a lesson she learned the hard way. Lexi keeps people at a distance, including her de facto family members, who all work for a Los Angeles club, Elysium, whose owner, Urie Porchowsky, offers lifetime protection to youngsters with at least "one foot in the unknown." After one of their own goes missing, Lexi witnesses the gruesome murder of a local high school student named Jane, and her ghost is soon asking Lexi for help. The disappearances escalate, and Lexi must find the killer while battling her burgeoning feelings for Jane. Lexi and Jane's tentative (and unusual) relationship is sweet, actually overshadowing the murder mystery, and Berquist (Devils unto Dust, 2018) effectively tackles the destructive nature of grief and loneliness, but the worldbuilding is rather slight. Lexi, Jane, and most of the Elysium crew are presumed white, but some diversity can be found in peripheral characters.Moody paranormal fare that lacks the spark of Berquist's debut; consider this a sophomore slump. (Paranormal thriller. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2019

    Gr 9 Up-Horror meets mystery in this supernatural whodunit for lovers of murder and suspense. Lexi is cursed with two abilities: she can interact with ghosts and can tell how someone is going to die through physical contact. This unusual combination of skills has led to extreme isolation, with her only contacts being other members of Los Angeles's supernatural underground. By day she frequents mental hospitals and tries to keep her head above water financially. At night, she bartends and runs errands at one of the only paranormal bars in town. The "errands" are mostly putting ghosts to rest, not a bad job for someone who hates being around the living. Her community is shaken when murders start cropping up in their usually protective area and Lexi is unfortunate enough to run into one of the victims the night before she is murdered, drawing Lexi into the puzzle of who is killing and why. The combination of horror and mystery genres opens up the readership for this book, as does the LGBTQ+ character and the appealing sense of isolation that many teens struggle with. There is enough kissing and boy drama for those who prefer romance in their novels, and enough bodies and swearing for the readers who want fear and grittiness. Lexi's kind relationship with her grandfather fleshes her out, taking her from a stock character to someone more three-dimensional. VERDICT A fun, fast-paced read for students looking for a thrill.-Sara Kundrik, Gilbert Paterson Middle School, Alta.

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews "A lonely teen must use her odd powers to track down a killer. . .Lexi and Jane's tentative (and unusual) relationship is sweet. . .Berquist effectively tackles the destructive nature of grief and loneliness."
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books "The atmosphere of the grim dog-eat-dog world of the seedier parts of Los Angeles provides an enticing noir flavor. Lexi's aching loneliness is palpable in her narration. . .The romance between Lexi and Jane offers a bright spot, and their relationship develops organically from merely a source of comfort to genuine love. . . .a compelling page turner."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 1 titles every 78 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Missing, Presumed Dead
Missing, Presumed Dead
Emma Berquist
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel